Sunday Breakfast

I had dreams of English muffins, eggs, bacon, cereal with chocolate milk, pancakes and sausage gravy. Alas, my household is missing most of those items today. But that’s okay. I made do with some left over split pea and ham soup, that I decided needed a little cheese. So I threw some in, heated it up. I didn’t realize I still had so much left. I ate at the counter, and after a few minutes, I became auspiciously bored, and decided to grab some grapes, and head up to my room and start reading Mindful Eating 101.

After I couldn’t handle sitting in my room on such a glorious day, I went for a walk. I just discovered Running Map . Com, which for some reason surprises me. It surprised me greatly to learn how much I was walking out of necessity. All together, if I ride the bus, I walk about 1.25 miles every day. Some days I get a ride home, and so the number would be half that. Sometimes I walk home, and the number turns into twice that. It depends on the weather. But I thought it was interesting to actually know the distance! So I plotted out an easy walk, which took me into a neighboring hood, and all together was about 1.32 miles. It was super easy, and I probably could have kept going, but I have other plans for today that require me not getting worn out before it begins. Perhaps I’ll share the details of that on a later day.

But now I know how easy it is to get that small walk in, it only took about 30 minutes. I can see myself walking that a couple of mornings a week before I go into work. I felt very energized afterward. It was inspiring. I’d also like to eventually expand my miles up to two by the middle of June. I think right now I’m just re-familiarizing myself to my body. We’ve been out of touch for a really long time.

Last Night

Yesterday afternoon was a beautiful affair. The sun was up, there were barely any clouds in the sky, and it was just cool enough that you could enjoy the heat from the sun, without sweating and making a mess of yourself. I walked to the theater, as promised, and as mentioned, ordered a steak and guacamole burrito. Because of the lack of lighting in the theater, I was unable to snap a credible picture, but I will say this. If I told you I payed 8.50 for the burrito, and the only side it came with was some corn chips, could you guess the size of the burrito?

It must have weighed at least a pound, and I definitely ate every single bite of it. With joy, no less. While I did notice that I was very distracted, and felt that I was eating to quickly, and mindlessly for my own comfort, I was able to make myself count to ten in between bites, and set the burrito down in between most bites, which is important. If you have your food in your hand, its a lot easier to just keep it up to your mouth and kinda hold it there.

I had some guacamole made with mayonaise, lemon juice, and of course, a whole avacado, along with about 3 servings of chips. I didn’t count them, and I didn’t measure how much guac I ended up eating. I ate this mindlessly infront of the television, rewatching the season finale of Grey’s Anatomy. This tasty treat was followed by some mini corndogs.

I was asleep by 8:30 again last night.

I guess I didn’t realize how tired I was. I think I’m still dealing with that flu bug thing, but I’m feeling much better today (Sunday).

A good thing that happened yesterday: I was able to stop by the bookstore and pick up two books! Mindful Eating 101: A Guide to Healthy Eating in College and Beyond and Mindful Eating: A Guide to Rediscovering a Healthy and Joyful Relationship with Food–includes CD.

Have you read either of these books? Did you find them helpful?